Giving Thanks

Top: J.Crew | Sweater: J.Crew via Poshmark | Jeans: Genetic Denim | Purse: Marc Jacobs | Shoes: Givenchy | Sunglasses: Tory Burch | Earrings & Necklace: Kate Spade | Watch: Michael Kors | Bracelets: Stella & Dot, Vintage | Rings: {Courtesy of} TOMTOM Jewelry “Interlocking Ring,” {Courtesy of} Karen London “Juno,” Colombia

This year has been full of changes for me, both good and challenging situations (including getting my first gray hairs–ahh!). And while I’ve dealt with some of the hardest times, I have never been as thankful as I am this year. Here are three things that I’m giving thanks to this year:

  1. Family. If you’re a regular reader of K+C and follow me on Twitter or know me personally, you know that my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer right before Mother’s Day this year (see original post here). After months of surgeries, chemo, radiation and side effects that still make me tear up to this day, my mom finished her treatments this week. I’m beyond thankful for her health, her doctors, the fact that she caught the cancer so early on, her strength, and determination to beat cancer. I’m so thankful for my stepdad and my sisters. It’s amazing how we all came together to stay as strong as possible for my mom and support her, cry with her, and carry her through it all.
  2. Career. I kicked off this year with a new job. To say that I love my job would be an understatement. Not only am I surrounded by mentors day in and day out, but I work with some of my best friends and some of the smartest, sweetest guys and gals. Being inspired by the people that you spend most of your days with is something that I definitely don’t take for granted.
  3. Kitties + Couture. I originally started Kitties + Couture as a way to decompress from 10+ hour work days, as a way to express my love for fashion and style, and as a way to meet new local, like-minded friends. I’m so thankful for your ongoing support, kind words, and for inspiring me. The experiences and people I’ve met because of this little, silly blog this year blows my mind.

Happy Thanksgiving, Kittens! <3 Excited to officially kick off the holiday season with you!

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | PINTEREST | INSTAGRAM

17 comments

  1. Such a wonderful post! Congrats with all of your success with your career and your blog, what a wonderful year! And I’m so happy to hear that your mom finished treatment, what a huge accomplishment! I bet she will start feeling stronger every day now!

    I love this look too, the colors are perfect for fall and it feels very 70s inspired! So cute!

  2. I love your outfit. The use of complementary colours is perfect. I tend to find the use of complementary colours together to be cheesy, but you did it in a way that makes me want everything that you are wearing. So that I can wear it too…:) Couple of days late but: Happy thanksgiving from Canada.

Thoughts? Leave me a comment!

