October: Pink for Breast Cancer

Top: Forever 21 | Shorts: TEXTILE Elizabeth & James | Shoes: Brian Atwood | Purse: Rebecca Minkoff | Sunglasses: Burberry | Earrings: Kate Spade | Necklaces: Bauble Bar “Mini Nameplate,” Erica Weiner | Bracelets: {Courtesy of} Oia Jules “Pink,” {Courtesy of} AboutPrettyThings, Miami | Watch: Michael Kors | Rings: Gilt Groupe, Colombia

I’m kicking off my fashion diary this month with another pink look in honor of my mom’s battle with breast cancer (see post here and here for more info). My mom had her last chemo session a few days ago and while I can’t tell you how excited I am that this part of the battle is over, I’m overwhelmed with emotion. I couldn’t be by her side during this treatment because I had to go on a business trip, but thankfully, a couple of my sisters and my step-dad were by her side during some of the scariest moments of this whole ordeal. My mom had a really, really bad reaction to the chemo this time around. She felt her throat closing, her blood pressure increasing and her body temperature sky rocketing. Nurses and doctors swarmed the room, while my mom sat there with tears strolling down her face, thinking the worst was going to happen–and I was 3,000 miles away feeling helpless. She’s doing better now…in pain, but better. And she will be okay because she’s strong and because God will help her through it.

Needless to say, I was pretty upset last night when I saw someone on my Facebook update his status with one of the most ignorant comments I have ever seen, calling October the month of “pink shit everywhere” and wondering why this happened for an entire month and not just a week. My heart raced, tears strolled down my face, and I wanted to tell him off more than I’ve ever wanted to tell someone off, but instead I called him out on his ignorance in the nicest way possible, reminding him that awareness saves lives. A few minutes later, he deleted his status.

And because of this, I want to thank all of you, all of the companies, and brands who do something to raise awareness of this disease. Here are a few of my favorites who are donating proceeds with every purchase and/or have made contributions to breast cancer foundations. There are plenty more (amazing!), so feel free to share them with me in the comments on this post!

  1. Oia Jules: “Pink” Bracelet (as pictured in this outfit)
  2. Ann Taylor Cares: The Evelyn Lauder Legacy Collection
  3. Subtle Luxury: Pink Sparkle Scarf
  4. LOFT: Giuliana Rancic for LOFT Necklace
  5. Essie: Breast Cancer Awareness Collection

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | PINTEREST | INSTAGRAM

25 comments

  1. Oh my amazing little kitty, I love you and will be painting my nails pink in honor of this month, my grandma, your mom, and to everyone out there fighting! You are so strong and I think that Breast Cancer Awareness should be MORE than a month. :-) Love you and love this look- duh.

    <3 Amanda

  2. Breast Cancer Awareness should be all 365 days! Your mom is such a fighter and both you and your family are a great inspiration to women everywhere! Sending lots of good vibes to your mom and may God continue to shine his light on her. BTW, your outfit looks amazing!

    PS: Pandora has a BCA charm this month…getting mines this weekend!

  3. My mom has been cancer free going on two years. I totally echo Rosie’s statement – we should be aware all year round! Good on your for calling that guy out on his ignorance. You look lovely in this outfit – those shoes are wicked fab :)

  4. I work at a cancer hospital and I agree that awareness and prevention are SO important! Thank you for this post! I wish the best of luck to your mom and I hope she continues to heal. And, per usual, I love your outfit!

  5. my little cousin died because some stupid doctor thought it’s just the appendix.
    I think cancer awareness is really important for everyone no matter what age – have yourself checked girls, it only takes 30minutes once a year.

    Sabrina

  6. You look lovely, of course! Good for you for
    being stern and strong in your reply. Obviously your words and technique did the trick. Kick butt and take names, albeit gracefully (just the way you did)!

  7. Hi Maria! Still praying for you and your mom. Today I did the 5k walk for breast cancer in my city Houston, Texas. Thousands gathered and it was amazing to walk for this purpose. I saw so many living testimonies who have survived which means that your mom can and will beat it too!

    xx
    Ebony

  8. The journey to end breast cancer starts with a single step. Find a Making Strides Against Breast Cancer event near you, sign up today and help us turn this walk into a victory lap.

Thoughts? Leave me a comment!

