Traveling Girl Style: Chicago Bound

Top: J. Crew | Sweater: J. Crew | Jeans: Rich & Skinny | Shoes: Sperry Top-Sider “Bahama” Sequined Boat Shoe | Bag: Target | Sunglasses: Burberry | Earrings: Kate Spade | Bracelets: {Courtesy of} Lauren Elan “Friendship”, {Courtesy of} Lauren Elan “Bella”, Vintage | Watch: Michael Kors | Ring: Colombia

I seem to be on a plane every week these days (totally not complaining, by the way!) and I’m learning exactly how to dress comfortably, yet chic on the plane.

Lesson one: Don’t bother wearing a bazillion accessories! This, as you can guess, is a hard lesson for me to abide by, but definitely a must to get me through security stress-free. Don’t worry: my bag full of my best baubles and gems are always safely stored in my carry-on.

Lesson two: Layers! I don’t know about you, but I can never seem to be happy with the temperature on a plane. It’s always either too hot or too cold for me, so I always try to wear layers that are easy to take on and off. This was the perfect opportunity to slip on two of my new J.Crew goodies. Plus, who doesn’t love a good stripe + polka dot combo?

Lesson three: Make sure to wear appropriate shoes! Now, on a short flight, I’m totally okay wearing my highest of heels. But if I’m flying across the country and I know I’ll be doing my fair share of walking, I always try to keep the heels stored in my carry-on. Not one to own many flats, let alone sneakers, I have to be honest and say that I always feel so strange (and so short!) when I slip these adorable Sperry Top-Siders on. But what better way to get me in a cute pair of flats than by covering them in sequins? Plus, they’ve been a hit by those standing in the security line both times I’ve worn them to the airport! ;)

Lesson four: Be a bag lady! Mind you, I have quite a few devices that I need to carry with me on the plane, including my DSLR camera, 13-inch Macbook Pro, work iPad, and personal iPad, along with notebooks, my to-do list, and a file folder or two. Most of the purses I own are smaller and definitely not made to tote around so many things. On one of my many trips to Target one day, I happened to slip this tote in my cart (how does that always happen at Target?!) and while it’s now coming to the end of its lifespan, it has gone through hell and back across the country with me. Admittedly, one of the best $25-or-so spent!

Lesson five: Fly Virgin. Enough said.

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | PINTEREST | INSTAGRAM

18 comments

  1. You always look so adorable, Maria! I like the stripes layered over the little pattern in your shirt.

    P.S. Will you come to Texas and teach me how to make a perfect bun? I’ll buy you some Riverwalk grub. :o)

    1. You’re too sweet, Linda. Thank you! And I can’t wait to be back in Texas and see your pretty face! Margaritas at Ocho? I’m there! ;)

      My bun is FAR from perfect. Literally. I just put my hair in a pony tail, take the end and wrap it around, then use another band to hold it in place. I should probably learn how to do a sock bun, but I’m a bit lazy… :) Plus, your hair is so gorgeous down!

  2. Maria, you look absolutely gorgeous in everything you wear, even a potato sack will look elegant on you hahaha ;-). Great comfy yet chic look. Love the layered pattern mix of your shirts and yellow and blue are perfect together. Even in those sneakers you look very sophiticated because of the silver and sequins. Great post.

    <3 Ani
    http://www.fleurani.blogspot.de

    1. Thank you! Not planning on selling them anytime soon, but let me know what your username is on Poshmark so I can tag you if I do list them for sale! :)

Thoughts? Leave me a comment!

