High Heeled and Proud

Top: Etcetera, etc. Boutique in Austin, TX | Jeans: Rich & Skinny | Jacket: Rebecca Minkoff “Becky” | Shoes: Zara | Purse: {Courtesy of} Rebecca Minkoff | Sunglasses: Burberry | Earrings: {Courtesy of} Karen London “Crawford” Hoops | Necklaces: Madewell, {Courtesy of} Vanessa Mooney “Dominga” | Watch: Michael Kors | Bracelets: {Courtesy of} Shira Melody Jewelry, Vintage | Rings: {Courtesy of} Karen London “Coasting”, TomTom Jewelry

Those who know me personally know that I’m someone who avoids any kind of confrontation or sticky situation with others if I can. I feel like it’s definitely not worth wasting time on people who just bring negativity into your life and definitely believe in the quote “if you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all.” Color-me-shocked when I was at the checkout line of a local grocery store on Friday afternoon wearing this outfit and the older lady behind me had the nerve to tap on my shoulder and criticize my heels. She couldn’t understand why I would wear something so high and said a few other nasty remarks. All I could do is laugh and proclaim my love affection with my high heels. And you better believe that I strutted myself out of that store with an extra pep in my step and my chin up high. Moral of the story? Be nice, y’all! And mind your own business.

PS: How gorgeous is my new turquoise rosary-style necklace from Vanessa Mooney? I haven’t taken it off all weekend, so be ready to see it frequently on the blog!

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | PINTEREST | INSTAGRAM

45 comments

  1. Ugh. People really need to mind their own. The other week an old sweaty jogger puffed past me and shouted “you look very silly” at me as she went past – because obviously she looked super hot in her tracksuit and trainers. I love the deer top so much! x

  2. Love the deer top! It’s adorable! Shake off what that lady said, you wear your high heels and wear them with pride! You are not only beautiful on the outside, but you let your inner beauty shine through as well!

    1. Thanks, Jodi! I shook it off right away and figured she was having a bad day. Thank you so much!

      PS: Look out for the mail this week! Apologies for the delay–have been traveling for work!

  3. OMG please! You look amazing and those heels are way cute! Don’t pay attention to negative people..they are just miserable..and you’re just fabulous!!

    XO,

    Rosie

  4. HAHAHA omg, I would have paid to be with you to see your reaction. Who does she think she is? My gooodnesss! You know you ALWAYS rock the heels and look amazing- MmmHMmmm!

    <3 Amanda

    1. I wish I was wearing my pastel yellow pumps with metallic cap toe so I could see what she would have told me about THOSE. ;)

      Thanks, Cathy! Planning on wearing it again this week. ;) xo

  5. You did so good with being nice back. I’m definitely the opposite and I can never handle anyone having the guts to say something mean to me. So I probably would have said something witty (and not too mean) back at her.

  6. you look fab as always! whenever other women criticize the way I look I just tell myself that they are jealous. stay positive and keep smiling :)

    1. Thanks, Gen! Women can be so catty sometimes, right? Walked away from the situation smiling, so definitely don’t have a problem with that. :D xo

  7. Pingback: High heels | LVMKE
  8. She felt the need to tell you? WOW, that is worse then what I’ve ever experienced.. I wonder what is it about heels that makes woman so passionate. You either love them with a passion, or hate them with a vengance. I often feel the nasty looks when wearing mine as well, I know – no matter how casual the rest of my outfit is- that with heels I will get looks.

    1. Ha! I know. I mean, it’s fine if you don’t like something, but keep it to yourself. It’s all about manners. And let them look! ;)

  9. Slipping on a pair of heels definitely boosts my confidence! Plus I’m short and they make me feel tall in all sorts of ways!! :) Keep rocking the wonderful heels! You look fantastic in them!

      1. Hey Maria,
        Could you suggest me some bargain vintage markets,flea markets and 5 dollar shops in NYC. I’m travelling there this week. Would definitely look forward to your tips for some bargain NYC shopping. No luxury brands or high street retailer as we have all in London:)
        Thank you,
        Tans from Onetimefashionista

  10. I find that interaction hilarious, considering how classy and classic this outfit is. That woman would be in for a shock if she were in any number of other countries in the world, where high heels are far more common (and much higher!) than in the US. I’ve been in Russia for a couple months now and I feel like a schmuck every time I leave the house in flats, because Russian women are the queens of gorgeous sky-high heels!

    Way to go keeping you head up high, Maria!

Thoughts? Leave me a comment!

