Bow Tie + Velvet Dreams

Blouse: Zara (similar) // Sweater: H&M (similar) // Jeans: Zara // Blazer: Zara // Shoes: Zara (similar) // Bow Tie: ASOS // Sunglasses: Burberry // Purse: {Courtesy of} Rebecca Minkoff (similar) // Watch: Michael Kors // Bracelets: HRH Collection, Stella & Dot, Vintage // Rings: Low Luv x Erin Wasson (similar), Colombia

Everyone shows up to their first day at a new job looking like a purple penguin, right? No? Well…I did! Over the last few months, I’ve started to pay more and more attention to menswear and I have been finding ways to transition it into my closet. I snagged this bow tie on ASOS a couple of weeks ago and knew right away that I wanted to wear it with my deep purple, velvet, and elbow-patched blazer, an outfit that was originally inspired by this Dsquared look I found on Pinterest.

Now, tell me: How else would you style this bow tie?

28 comments

    1. Thank you! I don’t pull out the blazer enough because it is a magnet for lint (as you can tell in some of the pictures), even after going through it with my mint roller for 15 minutes! That said, I HAD to rock it with this look and loved every second of it. :)

    1. Thank you! I’m so bad with nail polish names and I didn’t check it when my manicurist chose it for me (yes, she’s sooo awesome). All I know is it’s OPI. Sorry I can’t be of more help!

  1. Well aren’t you just the cutest thing ever. This is tricky. Maybe wear it with a pencil skirt, over a silky button up and layered with a chunky necklace. That might be weird but it’s what popped into my head!

    1. Oh, I would love to see it layered with the right chunky necklace! I don’t own many pencil skirts (I know…what a shame), but you just helped me think of another outfit: faux leather shorts, printed button up, tights, booties. :) Thank you!

  2. Love the whole look and you have the perfect look for rocking menswear!!!!
    PS: Has Rebecca Minkoff sent you free bags? Because you epitomize a Minkette girl and have so many colors!
    PS 2: When do I get to see you?

    1. Thanks, Jes! I’m definitely a loud and proud Minkette (AKA I have an addiction that I don’t want to find a cure for!). The RM team has graciously gifted a couple, this one included, but 99% of my ever-growing collection comes from my wallet.

      I need to see you ASAP! It’s been too long. :) Might be in the city this weekend for the game, depending on the rain, so I’ll keep you updated.

  3. I love the accessories shot! I think the bow tie would be cute worn longer with a few other thin necklaces and a simple tee, but you’d definitely have to try it and experiment first.

Thoughts? Leave me a comment!

